My Life in Movies: Marie Antoinette

large

Marie Antoinette

tumblr_n0j2qc7q1r1qgoyu1o1_r1_500

One of the most aestetically pleasing movies of all time has to be Sofia Coppola’s Marie Antoinette. Despite the beatings it received from critics, the film does exactly what it’s supposed to do, offer a look at the French queen in an updated way with cool post punk beats.

How can a film laced with Ladurée confections and custom made Manolo Blahniks not be just the most beautiful freaking thing that you have ever seen!? From the piled high pink pastel and sometimes boat bearing wigs to the silk embroidered garments, grown-up dress up players would lust over, this film has some serious eye candy.

large-8

large-3

tumblr_n0wkq3WFCb1sdk8lso1_500

I remember watching this by myself when I was home sick from school. It’s a good movie to watch alone for the first time so haters don’t taint it for you (Twilight should be watched alone too). It was a movie I could see a lot of people hating, the acting is a bit dodgy really, but I didn’t care. I knew it would be my spring go-to movie. It was lovely and smart and picturesque. It made me want to be rich, royal, and young in the 1700s complete with garden parties, and hide and go seek at Versailles.

 If you have not seen this movie, I would recommend that you do . It also has a super dope soundtrack! Happy movie watching!
Screen Shot 2014-02-22 at 12.57.16 PM
These are hardly historically accurate for “Le Mode” of Marie Antoinette’s time, so I took some modern liberties in true Sofia Coppola fashion. I would like to see what a modern Marie Antoinette would wear. I see her now, parading around in designer duds, floral crop tops, perhaps even some studded Jeffrey Campbells, all with the same lovely pastel color palette, living beyond her means, making everyone mad. I feel sponsored by top shop, but I love these pieces.
1. Floral Crown, Etsy $8; 2. Cropped Vest, Topshop $16; 3. Digital Peony Bikini Top, Topshop $26; 4. Blusher in Pink, Topshop $9; 5. Antique Jacquard Midi Skirt, Topshop $96; 6. Sugar Lip Treatment in Rosé, Fresh $22; 7. Dance Instead of Walking Heel in Pink, Modcloth $38; 8. Forever New Macaroon Ring Case in Rose and Lavender, Forever New $8.
Screen Shot 2014-02-22 at 3.16.48 PM
I don’t know how you can even begin to try to replicate Versailles decor without a proper chandelier. If I were to decorate a Monarch inspired palace these items would suit the decor quite nicely. Not too lavish, just enough. I think that even Lisa Vanderpump would approve of these pieces. Wink, wink.
photo
One thought on “My Life in Movies: Marie Antoinette

  1. Beautiful, so gorgeous and romantic! I’ve never seen the movie, but I will look for it and I will also watch it alone so that I hear no negative comments about it. Love the chandelier, there is a store that I love in Larkspur that sells them. She buys them in France, I have almost bought one on a couple of occasions. I should let you decorate my guest room. Would you?

Leave a Reply

