Skin Care Favorites

A fresh looking face is not always as easy as it looks to obtain. I think people, especially younger girls, neglect to treat their skin properly. Makeup can help your complexion look clear and pretty, but the care that happens underneath is imperative to a healthy looking mug!

First of all, and as obvious as it seems, it is critical to include an SPF in your skin care regiment. Sun and vitamin D are great, but too much sun can cause hyper pigmentation, dark spots, and cancer. I have never been much of a sun worshiper, a. because I just don’t tan, and b. I am a winter girl all the way, and I just favor that porcelain, Victorian look. My foundations usually have an spf, but I like to use an oil free spf underneath my moisturizer before I put on my makeup. ALSO, keeping hydrated is really important. I drink water like a mermaid and I really think it helps my skin, and of course, my overall health. You should drink at least 8 glasses of water a day, so keeping a large tumbler, or CamelBak with you all day is helpful and a good reminder to keep drinking. Last tip before the products, limit your diet to non-greasy foods. Indulging in fast food every once in a while is totally fine, but you are what you eat. If you are eating a lot of processed and greasy foods, it’s only going to show in your complexion as well as your gut. Eating a lot of fruits and vegetables, a limited amount of red meat, and good fats like avocados are essential nutrients your body needs, and your skin will thank you for it. Now, enough on the rant and onto the products.

1. Kate Somerville’s ExfoliKate; This cleaner is potent and it really just removes all of the dirt and makeup buildup in my pores. If you don’t exfoliate, dirt, makeup, and grime can settle in your pores and make blemishes. It is imperative that you exfoliate to keep your skin really clean. I recommend exfoliating once to twice a week — I just do it once because this product is quite pricey. 2. Murad Spot Treatment; This sulfur based ointment kills pimples so fast — it really is a life saver. I put this on the blemished area two nights in a row and that sucker is gone! 3. Dr. Lipp Nipple Balm; This name is so awkward, but the product is amazing. I put this on every night before bed, and my lips are so soft and moisturized the next day. I feel like my lips have always been on the dry side even if I apply chapstick all day, but since I have been using this nightly, my lips are perfectly soft and healthy. 4. The Ren Glycolactic Skin Renewal Mask; This mask is potent and brightening! It uses fruit enzymes (pineapple, papaya, cranberry, etc) to remove unwanted debris from the skin. I love the smell and the way it brightens my skin. I put a layer of this on my skin for 10 minutes, then remove it with warm water and the cloth provided, and my skin is so soft and really BRIGHT! 5. Cetaphil; I use this to remove waterproof eye makeup and foundation. It’s really gentle and does a great job clearing away makeup. 6. Lancome Bienfait Multi-Vital Moisturizer; I love the smell of this, the texture, and the way it preps my skin for foundation. It does a great job hydrating my beyond dry cheeks and the oil free formula does’t irritate any blemishes or occasional redness. I think this product is geared towards dryer skin, so I would not recommend this for an oily skin. 7. Ole Henriksen Red Tea Foaming Cleanser; I heart this cleanser. I love the orange peel smell of it and the silky texture. It makes my skin look so bright and fresh, and I have broken out a lot less since using it everyday. 8. Soap and Glory Hand Food; This non-greasy hand cream comes with me everywhere. It smells like marshmallows and coconut and it keeps my usually dry hands soft as a heart surgeon’s. 9. Clean and Clear Cleanser; this cleanser is inexpensive and helps remove the remainder of my makeup. I like the smell and the fact that I can load up on it because it’s so cheap. I also use it throughout the day on non-makeup days to re-fresh. 10. Rubbing Alcohol; the multi tasking LIFE SAVER. This guy can clean anything. I kind of use it as a toner, which freaks some people out, but I only place it on OCCASIONAL breakouts. My t-zone is my problem area, so this product helps keep it clearer, and I hardly break out because of it.

Hope you enjoyed my skin care favorites! ❤

4 thoughts on “Skin Care Favorites

  1. Love the humor in your blog and the explanation of the various products! I have mature dry skin so I don’t identify with breakouts although I had the occasional breakout many moons ago. Exfoliation also improves my elderly dry skin. And I do think that some of these products will work for me and thank you for this great information. I think that you are on to something and not at all over the top!

Leave a Reply

